Some Brief Thoughts at the End of NaNoWriMo 2022 - 29th Nov 2022

After 28 days of hard work I finally finished my novel (yay!). In this article I want to talk a little bit about what my thoughts on this experience are and what I learnt in the process.

Doing NaNoWriMo

The process of doing NaNoWriMo was neither exceptionally difficult nor exceptionally hard. At the beginning of the month it was obscenely easy; I could write thousands of words every single day. But as the week went on I found myself struggling to hit even a thousand words per day. I understand that for some people generating such a large number of words every day is extremely difficult, I have all the respect in the world for those people regardless of whether or not they finished NaNoWriMo.

For me, the most difficult part of this challenge was merely finding things to write about. I had several idea generation sessions during the month where I mind mapped out several places where my story could go. Needless to say, things got wild fast!

What Did I Learn?

First, I learnt that I actually really enjoy writing! I'll probably be doing more of it in the future, so stay tuned!

I also learnt a lot about the story telling process and how to write. I'm primarily a film maker, but before attempting this challenge I didn't think that I'd ever be able to write my own screenplays, now I think that I absolutely could! I feel confident that I could generate my own ideas and know where to take them, all thanks to NaNoWriMo!

I also learnt the importance of giving yourself a manageable goal to work towards, I don't think that I'd ever have been able to reach 50,000 words in 30 days without having learnt that.

Overall, I would highly recommend NaNoWriMo for it's educational value alone.

What's Next?

After this month I want to move onto other projects. I want to learn Latin. I don't plan to edit my book, it's not good enough for that unfortunately. However, I have uploaded the draft if you'd like to check it out. It can be found on the link bellow:

https://immychan.itch.io/the-voice-on-tthe-radio